The Award of Turing Fellowships and Scholarships

The Turing Centenary Conference in Manchester will see the beginning of the 3-year Turing Centenary Research Project - Mind, Mechanism and Mathematics, also funded by the John Templeton Foundation.

As part of the Alan Turing Year, proposals are invited for:

  • Five Turing Research Fellowships for researchers no more than 10 years from the award of a PhD relevant to their proposed research, value £75,000 each, and
  • Three Turing Scholarships for gifted younger researchers of age up to 25 years old, value £45,000 each over the three years.

Each Award may be held at a location of the winner's choice, and may be held as a valuable supplement to other funding.

For further details of eligibility etc, please see the How to Apply webpage at the Alan Turing Year website.

The Research Project will address a number of major questions related to the Turing legacy, and are listed at the Turing Centenary Research Project webpage under four main headings:

  1. The Mathematics of Emergence: The Mysteries of Morphogenesis
  2. Possibility of Building a Brain: Intelligent Machines, Practice and Theory
  3. Nature of Information: Complexity, Randomness, Hiddenness of Information
  4. How should we compute? New Models of Logic and Computation.
Important Dates
Submission deadline December 16, 2011
Award Notification March 31, 2012
Award Ceremony Turing Centenary day, June 23, 2012
Commencement of the research project July 1, 2012
Completion of the research project June 30, 2015

Winners will be expected to attend the award ceremony at the Turing Centenary Conference in Manchester, 22 - 25 June, 2012.

The members of the Competition Judging Panel are:

  • Samson Abramsky (Oxford)
  • Manindra Agrawal (Kanpur)
  • Eric Allender (Rutgers)
  • Luca Cardelli (Microsoft Research, Cambridge)
  • Rodney Downey (Wellington)
  • Luciano Floridi (Oxford/Hertfordshire)
  • Barbara Grosz (Harvard)
  • Stuart Kauffman (Vermont/Santa Fe)
  • Cris Moore (New Mexico/Santa Fe)
  • Gordon Plotkin (Edinburgh)
  • Aaron Sloman (Birmingham)
  • Robert I. Soare (Chicago)

The Judging Panel is Chaired by S. Barry Cooper (Leeds).