Please note, this is archived content and is no longer being updated. Please update your bookmarks and links to point to this permanent URL:
  • JCacheStorageFile::_deleteFolderJLIB_FILESYSTEM_DELETE_FAILED

Judging criteria

Entries will be judged within their category. There are 8 categories:
  • Age 7-11 (Key Stage 2) - individual or team
  • Age 11-14 (Key Stage 3) - individual or team
  • Age 14-16 (Key Stage 4) - individual or team
  • Age 16-19 (studying in sixth form/college) - individual or team

Each entry will be reviewed by a panel of judges. The judges will not know the entrants' names or their schools' names. The judges will award points for each of the following:

  1. Originality
  2. Creativity
  3. Technical quality, use of animation software features
  4. Relevance to the taught curriculum
  5. Overall directorial quality as a movie.

In each category there will be one Winner, and one Runner-Up, each of which will receive a prize. Within each category, the judges may also identify a number of entries as "Highly Commended" or "Commended" for their quality. Other prizes may also be awarded, at the judges' discretion. All winning entries will be exhibited at the annual Animation Festival, and displayed on the web.


All entrants will receive a certificate acknowledging their entry to the competition.

The decisions of the judging panel are final, and no correspondence will be entered into.

UK Schools Computer Animation Competition is hosted annually by The University of Manchester, School of Computer Science.